Golden Kin-Yōbi: 2 – Pushkin Press

It’s Week Two of Golden Kin-Yōbi, which means that you have another chance to win some great J-Lit – and today it’s all courtesy of one of my favourite publishers, Pushkin Press.

While they are well known for their European fiction in translation, 2013 saw them branch out into J-Lit, and today’s prizes come from that selection.  Pushkin have generously offered four books, with worldwide postage for the winners – so let’s see what you can win today…

*****
First up is Yasushi Inoue’s Bullfight, a great novella about an attempt by a journalist to put on a bullfighting event in post-war Osaka.  What initially seems like a crazy idea, gradually makes more and more sense, and people start to believe that the bulls will be fighting in the famous Kōshien baseball stadium.  He’ll build it, but will they come?  I loved this (see my review here), and with more Inoue to come from Pushkin next year, this is a great chance to try his work.

Of course, most of Pushkin’s J-Lit output last year was by one man, J-Lit’s enfant terrible, Ryu Murakami.  Long overlooked in the Anglosphere, often in the shadow of a certain other Japanese writer, Pushkin’s reissues have helped boost his profile again.

Coin Locker Babies is an explosive story of two boys abandoned shortly after their birth, and the revenge they take on a seedy, corrupt society.  We get to see a shadowy side of Tokyo and explore the downside of fame.  And the ending, well… (see my review here).

Where Coin Locker Babies is dark and brooding, Popular Hits of the Showa Era is simply nuts.  Karaoke, gangs, losers, friendship and anti-tank missiles – what’s not to like?  My review is here
 
The last book today brings a slight change of pace.  Sixty-Nine is a coming-of-age story with the usual R. Murakami touch.  A small-town boy dreams big, planning to stage a concert and get the girl of his dreams – find out if he suceeds 🙂  My review is here

*****
So, if you’d like to win one of these books, simply comment below, leaving your name, an e-mail address and the name of the book you’d like to win.  There’s no need to follow me, either here, on Facebook or on Twitter (unless you want to, of course!) – anyone can enter, and everyone has an equal chance of winning 🙂

Entries will close at 8 p.m. (AEST) on Thursday, January the 16th (that’s 9 a.m. on Thursday, London time), and the winners will be announced in the next Golden Kin-Yōbi post (the winners, naturally, will be chosen using some kind of random on-line draw thingy).  So, what are you waiting for?  Get commenting, and good luck!

*****
And, of course, we need to announce the winners of last week’s prizes!

A copy of Tomoyuki Hoshino’s We, the Children of Cats goes to Josh
A copy of Hoshino’s Lonely Hearts Killer goes to Carola

I will be in contact with the winners shortly – thanks again to PM Press for the great prizes 🙂

About Tony

Championing the wonders of fiction in translation... ...but quietly (the kids are asleep...).
This entry was posted in Golden Kin-Yōbi. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Golden Kin-Yōbi: 2 – Pushkin Press

  1. Ally says:

    What a great giveaway! I would love to read “69”, mainly because I like Ryu's work, I have already read “Popular Hits” and I have “Coin Locker Babies” here, waiting to be read next holiday 🙂
    p.s. The link to the “69” review leads to “Popular Hits” as well 😉
    Ally
    allina_tomi(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    The all look interesting (Love the cover art for “69”), but the one I really want to read is “Bullfight.”

    Martha
    mgifford01 @ snet.net

    Like

  3. josh says:

    yes, i know it's greedy of me but … i love novellas! can i put my hat in for Bullfight? the name is Josh and the address is burningbookspod@gmail.com. having been to Osaka, i can picture the ridiculous becoming real. being a baseball fan, i know well the expression, 'if you build it, they will come'. thanks for the offer!

    Like

  4. matttodd says:

    Bullfight, please!

    Matt Todd

    matt (dot) todd (dot) 88 @ gmail (dot) com

    Like

  5. Carola says:

    I'm really excited to have won Lonely Hearts Killer 🙂 Thanks again! Good luck with this round everyone!

    Like

  6. Tony Malone says:

    Ally – Thanks for the heads up – that link should now lead to the right review 🙂

    Like

  7. Tony Malone says:

    Carola – You're welcome to try again if you want 😉

    Like

  8. Anonymous says:

    Anything by Ryu Murakami would do the trick for me – indeed Tony would be interested which of his books (not necessarily one of those above) you'd recommend most highly? As for picking one for the competition – Popular Hits of the Showa Era for me please.

    Thanks

    Paul

    paul(dot)fulcher(at)btinternet(dot)com

    Like

  9. Jacqui (@jacquiwine) says:

    Fab giveaway! I would love the opportunity to read one of Ryu Murakami's novels, probably 'Popular Hits of the Showa Era' (or 'Coin Locker Babies'). I've read Inoue's 'Bullfight' and whoever wins that one is in for a real treat!

    Thanks for the opportunity to enter this giveaway,

    Jacqui (jacqui100@live.co.uk)

    Like

  10. Chris Oleson says:

    Thanks for the great offerings. I'd love to read Murakam's Coin Locker Babies
    chris in Osaka
    kiki-toshioleson@jttk.zaq.ne.jp

    Like

  11. Matt says:

    Could you please put me in the running for Popular Hits of the Showa Era please my email is matthew.imrie{at}gmail.com thank you

    Like

  12. Rise says:

    yayks, I love both writers. But I'd like to read more of Inoue. Crossing fingers for Bullfight.

    -Rise
    empirialist@yahoo.com

    Like

  13. Carola says:

    Now you're tempting me!

    I've never read anything by Yasushi Inoue, so I'd love to try for that one then 🙂
    Name: Carola
    E-mail: eve304[at]gmail[dot]com

    Like

  14. Bellezza Mjs says:

    Hi, Tony, I love Ryu Murakami. Piercing was a most memorable book of the fall for me. I'd love to have either Coin Locker Babies (which I once read and gave away on my own blog), or 69. Thanks for the opportunity, it's so generous to host these give always!

    Like

  15. Ash says:

    I've already read (and enjoyed) quite a bit of Ryu Murakami's work, but I haven't read anything by Yasushi Inoue, so I'm particularly interested in Bullfight!

    Ash Brown
    phoenixterran (at) gmail (dot) com

    (And thanks for running January in Japan and the giveaways!)

    Like

  16. Lizzy Siddal says:

    You know how much I Iove novellas – name in the hat for Bullfighting, please.

    Like

  17. Name in the hat for any thanks Tony, but if I need to nominate one I'll go for “Bullfighting”

    Like

  18. Cayce says:

    I'm little late to this 'party', but I love Japanese literature and loved Coin Locker Babies so count me in for Sixty-Nine.

    cayce006 at yahoo dot com

    Like

  19. Thanks for this wonderful opportunity, Tony! 'Coin Lockers Baby' seems to contain a lot of punch, so I'm going to go with that one.

    Reuven N. Pinnata
    reuven[dot]pinnata[at]gmail[dot]com

    Like

  20. Anonymous says:

    What a great giveaway! I would love to win '69' because it sounds like a great read and I love the front cover design!

    Rachel Bray
    rachel_bray@hotmail.com

    Like

  21. sakura says:

    I have been thinking about giving Ryu Murakami another try (I read Almost Transparent Blue years ago) so please put my name down for Popular Hits of the Showa Era.

    Sakura
    chasingbawa@gmail.com

    Like

  22. rhonda says:

    Great giveaway Bullfight please
    Lomazowr@gmail.com

    Like

  23. Brian Bergstrom says:

    'Popular Hits of the Showa Era' is one of the most interesting Murakami Ryu novels, and I never got the translation (so I'm happy it's been brought back into print!). Put me down for that one. brian.richard.bergstrom@gmail.com

    Like

  24. Visaly says:

    Would love to read Bullfight – those editions by Pushkin Press are just beautiful! visaly [ at ] gmail [ dot ] com 🙂 Thank you for the offer!

    Like

  25. kamo says:

    Sneaking in before the deadline here. Popular Hits of the Showa Era is the only Ryu Murakami I haven't read (apart from his latest in translation, From the Fatherland, I think), so I'm up for that, please. thisishowshe at gmail dot com.

    69 is hilarious. A real treat in store for whoever gets that one.

    Like

  26. Patricia says:

    I'd love to win Bullfight! 🙂

    – Patricia
    annapatriciavalerio at gmail dot com

    Like

  27. Tony Malone says:

    All over – the winners have been drawn (and will be notified shortly!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

