Golden Kin-Yōbi: 1 – Penguin Modern Classics

Welcome to Golden Kin-Yōbi, our regular Friday giveaway where you can win some great J-Lit.  Why the name?  Well, as some of you may know, the first character used in Japanese when writing Friday means ‘gold’, and hopefully many of you will strike gold over the next few weeks 🙂

*****
Today’s first giveaway, one to kick off this year’s January in Japan, comes to us courtesy of Penguin Modern Classics (UK), and they have kindly offered four books as prizes, including worldwide postage to the winners – and great books they are too.  All four are by the first Japanese winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature (and J-Lit Giant), Yasunari Kawabata, and they’re all great reads.

The four up for grabs are Snow Country (an elegant novella set in the mountains of northern Honshu), Thousand Cranes (another short piece which looks at traditional manners and customs), Beauty and Sadness (an excellent story of an affair gone sour) and The Sound of the Mountain (my favourite Kawabata, a tale of an old man coming to grips with mortality).  This last book is the choice for the second of our readalongs – with luck, the winner may even get their copy in time to join in!

*****

So, if you’d like to win one of these books, simply comment below, leaving your name, an e-mail address and the name of the book you’d like to win.  There’s no need to follow me, either here, on Facebook or on Twitter (unless you want to, of course!) – anyone can enter, and everyone has an equal chance of winning 🙂

Entries will close at 8 p.m. (AEST) on Thursday, January the 8th (that’s 9 a.m. on Thursday, London time), and the winners will be announced in the next Golden Kin-Yōbi post (the winners, naturally, will be chosen entirely randomly, one way or another).  So, what are you waiting for?  Get commenting, and good luck!

About Tony

Championing the wonders of fiction in translation... ...but quietly (the kids are asleep...).
This entry was posted in Golden Kin-Yōbi. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Golden Kin-Yōbi: 1 – Penguin Modern Classics

  1. kamo says:

    Happy New Year! Going to be a good one, I feel.

    Anyway, I've always fancied Snow Country, if you please. thisishowshe at gmail dot com.

    Like

  2. Tony Messenger tonymess@tpg.com.au “Thousand Cranes”

    Like

  3. Cayce says:

    In 2014, I did really poorly with this “challenge” but this year I am hoping to do better 🙂

    Oh, I have already read Snow Country but would be really interested in reading The Sound of the Mountain – so I guess that would be pick, if I win 🙂

    Happy New Year and thank you for hosting again this wonderful event, Tony!

    Like

  4. Cayce says:

    oh yes, and my email is cayce006 at yahoo dot com

    Like

  5. Tim Holm says:

    Timothy Holm
    paratize@hotmail.com
    “The Sound of the Mountain” please!
    Thanks for this chance and I do love your blog 🙂

    Like

  6. MG says:

    Martha Gifford mgifford01 @ snet.net Beauty and Sadness

    Like

  7. Chris in Osaka says:

    Akemashite omedetou! Thanks for the contest, and I'd love a chance to read The Sound of the Mountain.
    chris at kiki-toshioleson@jttk.zaq.ne.jp

    Like

  8. What a great giveaway to kick things off – those editions look gorgeous.
    I'd like to enter for Thousand Cranes please (bookwordlover@gmail.com). When browsing for a Kawabata title to read this month I was toying between either this one or The Master of Go, and I ended up purchasing the latter.

    Like

  9. So difficult to chose when all four sound good. But my choice ultimately is The Sound pf the Mountain. Email is heenandavies at yahoo dot co dot uk

    Like

  10. Rise says:

    It's a great start to the challenge and the new year. I'll be reading a book by Tsushima Yūko for the J in J.

    empirialist@yahoo.com
    Beauty and Sadness

    -Ryan

    Like

  11. David H says:

    Hi Tony, could you enter me for Beauty and Sadness please? Email is davidhreads at gmail dot com.

    Like

  12. Hooray for the New Year! My name is Madison and my email is madisonwoods7@gmail.com. I would love to win Beauty and Sadness! It sees like a very goods book!

    Like

  13. Hi Tony, could you enter me for The Sound of the Mountain? I already own the others and would like to read this one and complete my collection. Thanks. Email I me@belindafarrell.com. Belinda x

    Like

  14. JacquiWine says:

    Happy New Year to you, Tony! What a fabulous giveaway. I'd love to win a copy of Snow Country – I read it a few years ago, but I had a library copy and it's a book I'd like to read again. My email is jacqui100@live.co.uk

    Like

  15. Ally says:

    Happy New Year! It's so cold here that I cannot but be glad to take part in such a great giveaway and hope to win and read Snow Country or The Sound of the Mountain since I have read Beauty and Sadness and of course, quite enjoyed it. Thank you, Tony!

    Like

  16. Mihai says:

    Happy New Year! Wishing you a marvellous 2015! As for the January in Japan giveaway, I would love to read Snow Country or Thousand Cranes. They seem quite interesting 🙂
    email: avenger13 at gmail dot com

    Like

  17. Carola says:

    Happy New Year Tony! 🙂 What a great giveaway to kick off January in Japan with!
    Not participating because I own all four books already, but good luck to everyone else!

    Like

  18. Dennis Zanin says:

    Cool competition. Thanks for the opportunity.
    Dennis Zanin
    denzanin@gmail.com
    'The Sound of the Mountain'

    Like

  19. Chelsea says:

    Thanks for the opportunity! I would love to read “Thousand Cranes.”
    Chelsea McGill
    chelsea.mcgill@zoomtown.com
    http://thegloballycurious.blogspot.in/

    Like

  20. Hi
    Already have snow country, but would be interested in Sound of the mountain. Thanks
    Parrishlantern@yahoo.co.uk

    Like

  21. Tony Malone says:

    And that's time – good luck everyone 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

